A-1 Refrigeration

starstarstarstarhalf star 4.5 / 5 | 19 Total Reviews

Leave A Review

Rating:


"Steve Shannon installed and serviced my unit when we put in 5 years ago. You can really tell he's not there anymore. Tried charging me 500 for tech that was on hold w tech support most of the time then blew a fuse and tried to deny he did it. Clamped a freon leak w rubber then was going to charge to come back out. On top of that sent me another 700 proposal to fix the freon leak he already found. Dealing with the office was mostly less than pleasant. Had another company come out showed me all the " workings " of the A1 tech and then fixed the leak and recharged the unit for 400 out the door now it works great. So sad feel like I was treated as stupid and scammed. "
J . W from Hopkins, MI on January 27th, 2017
star(1 / 5)
"A-1 did a great job in getting my heat pump back up and running again. Their staff was friendly and accommodating. Andrew the service tech diagnosed and repaired the problem fairly quickly and even had a little extra time to check my system over before he left. I am a little irritated that because he didn't have the part on his truck that I got charged an extra labor hour for him to go get it. Just doesn't seem right that it should cost me (the customer) an extra hundred bucks because he didn't have a stocked truck. Either way they did a good job and I might use them again, maybe. "
C . C from Marcellus, MI on January 18th, 2017
starstarstarstar(4 / 5)
"After we first called A1Geothermal to request information and receive information about this system. There was never any high pressure sale calls. There sales manager worked up a cost analysis and it only made sense to have this system installed. With the high cost of propane and uncapped 30% Federal Tax Credit through 2016. Installation of a geothermal system only made sense. I also did some research on the value it could add to our home along with checking with our Realtor for her professional opinion. Found out that one of the major drawbacks for potential home buyers for those wanting to buy a home in the country is whether or not propane was the primary heat source. After we gave A1Geo the approval to start and made the down payment, the entire system was installed in a little over a week. (Actual installation time was a little over two days) Of course they have to dig up the yard a little, but we'll fix that in the spring. The Tranquility System we had installed is very quiet compared to the propane gas furnace we had replaced. It actually seems to work the best when you pick a temperature that your are comfortable with and leaving it there. We used to set the thermostat at different temperatures depending on whether we were home or not. I feel we made an solid investment in our home, as well as substantially lowering our heating and cooling costs. I would highly recommend researching this type of system and call them with any questions. (P.S. Don't expect the propane company to come out right away and haul off your old tank. Been a month and four calls. lol) "
F . S from Allegan, MI on December 5th, 2014
starstarstarstarstar(5 / 5)
"I had a problem with one of our heat pumps. Called A-1 and they sent a repairman out. He quickly found the problem and made the repair. "
C . L from Paw Paw, MI on July 1st, 2014
starstarstarstarstar(5 / 5)
"The digging done caused a big mess and it doesn't look good. The equipment broke-up my black top driveway in some places you can't drive on it without chunks hitting the car. The digger got stuck and left big holes in my lawn along with busting the drive trying to get out.After it was finished being installed we came home and the temp was 65 when it was set for 70, I could not get the unit to turn on right away and it finally came on but would not go above 67. The next morning the temp was down to 65, I rebooted the thermostat and the temp readout jumped to 75. It seem to hold through the night and the next morning I had no hot water, checked the breakers and found the hot water breaker tripped, I never had this happen before. We will see what the next few days have in store."
S . L from Clayton, MI on April 30th, 2014
starstarstar(3 / 5)
"It was unfortunate at what happen. When we moved the earth moving equipment onto the job site the ground was dry and solid. On the last day a heavy rain moved in. With the ground being clay and wet it was impossible to level out with out it balling up into clunks. As for the driveway the asphalt was already broken up do to age. When the ground was dry we moved the equipment in OK. After the rain and the drive already breaking down, it let the rain in underneath the asphalt where it became loose. So when they moved the equipment out it did ball up the drive in areas where it was not a straight run. We went back tried to straighten out the miss. The problem with the unit was do to the fact that the new thermostat was not working correctly. We replace the thermostat and the problem went away. Thank you Steve "
- A-1 Refrigeration
"Professional, dependable and prompt to respond."
A . S from Sturgis, MI on March 17th, 2014
starstarstarstar(4 / 5)
"Got here quick.Got job done quickly.Up and running.All Positive."
J . S from Lawton, MI on March 4th, 2014
starstarstarstarstar(5 / 5)
"I had a ver favorable working with the staff of A-1 Geothermal. Steve Shannon was on top of the whole project and everything wwent smoothly."
A . C from Paw Paw, MI on February 22nd, 2014
starstarstarstarstar(5 / 5)
"Overall I am satisfied with the whole process. The results due to A-1's expertise has made a huge difference in the comfort level of the house, including rooms that never seemed to have any conditioning at all before."
D . W from Kalamazoo, MI on December 31st, 2013
starstarstarstarstar(5 / 5)
"Dan, Thank you so much for the great review. "
- A-1 Refrigeration
"Project manager Steve Shannon was exceptionally knowledgeable and considerate. The loop field installer did an exemplary job under difficult conditions. The plumber did a fine job. The electrician could have done better - did not install wiring in conduit, rather simply stapled wiring to available wall board and studs. Overall, the value for the price was outstanding. A-1 Geothermal is easily the premier provider in the Kalamazoo area. "
G . R from Schoolcraft, MI on November 5th, 2013
starstarstarstarstar(5 / 5)